New Council Members Made Official

The year 2020 for Deer Park started off with the swearing in of three City Council members. Caleb Stapp won the election with 694 votes (his opponent, Heather Newsom had 488), Helen Dee Cragun won with 558 votes (her opponent, Carla J. Philips had 548 votes), and Ron Scholz ran unopposed. Cragun has been a member of the City Council for the past 22 years; by the time of the next election, it will be her 26th year as a councilwoman. Stapp and Scholz are both new to the City Council. Scholz took Position 5, Stapp took 4, and Cragun remains in Position 2.

Featured Sponsor
Thank You For Your Support!

Share this article.

Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email
Featured Sponsor
Thank You For Your Support!

Read more news.

2020 Holidays and Heroes a Success

Despite a year of cancellations, the Spokane County Sheriff’s Office managed to go forward with the annual Holidays and Heroes outreach event. It is a festive occasion when Spokane County Sheriff’s Officers take kids shopping for Christmas gifts for their families.

Read More »

2020 Hindsight

They say hindsight is 2020. The following articles were the most popular on our website during 2020.

January – First Annual Small Business Bingo
By: Editorial Team
Spokane County Library, a Neighborhood Champion for Small Business Saturday, has taken on the challenge of helping individuals discover phenomenal local stores in their community. This is the fourth year the library district has sponsored this event, but the first time Deer Park took part.

Read More »

Subscribe to our emails

Use the form below to sign up to receive news via email at no cost to you.